make him Arincini Con Ragu.It’s a Sicilian street

make him Arincini Con Ragu.

It’s a Sicilian street food that is made out of Arborio rice cooked in chicken stock, mixed..ah the heck with it I’ll post the recipe down below.

Anyway, my husband had them when he was in Sicily during the whole Libya liberation thing.  (Please no anti-war stuff…)  He was like “I had THESE when I was in Sicily and they were SOOOOO GOOD.”  I somehow will have all the ingredients on hand to make them again…and I hear a “YES YES YES YES YES PLEASE”  not from my husband but from a certain Red Headed God who’s a massive foodie.

Anyway here’s my recipe

Step 1: THE RICE MIXTURE

2 cups dry arborio rice, then you cook it as per package directions, substituting chicken stock for the water.  

1/2 cup of grated parmigiano-arrigiano

 2 eggs beaten

Now once the rice is cooked, cool it off, and then mix the cheese and eggs into it.

SAUCE:

My sauce, is something I made from scratch..takes all day so here’s the recipe for that

Roughly 3-4lbs roma tomatoes, peeled and chopped (cut an X at the bottom blanche them in boiling water for 30 secs, dunk tomato in ice water…peel) 

1/2 a large white onion, chopped

about 6 or 7 cloves of garlic, smacked with a knife

3 sprigs of fresh oregano

3 sprigs of fresh marjoram

1 sprig of fresh rosemary

2 sprigs of fresh thyme

about 3 sprigs of fresh basil

(Remove the leaves from the stems and just dump directly in the sauce..don’t worry)

2 large bell peppers, seeded and chopped, I use both red and green. 

I add about 3-4 cups of water to this, bring to a boil and simmer it all day..until it’s all mushy. I then take a stick blender, and wizz everything nice and smooth if there are chunks (My family doesn’t like chunky pasta sauces)  I then add it to whatever cooked ground meat I have on hand and voila!  Ragu! (I HIGHLY suggest using spicy Italian sausage *nodnod*)

So the Assembly of the rice balls.

first, you fill a dish with Italian seasoned bread crumbs.  Then in another dish, you want an egg/milk mixture.  

First step, you wet your hand, then you put some rice (roughly 1/4 cup) in it, and flatten it, put 1tpbs of cooled meat sauce in the center…apply more rice until it makes a ball.. roll in egg, then in bread crumbs…you need to SMOOOSH the rice around the sauce pretty hard…so it sticks, then you need to be delicate when it comes to breading it.  Repeat until you have no more rice mixture left. They should be the size of an orange…so if they look HUGE no worries.

Now, I prefer using a deep fryer, but you can cook them in a pan or in the oven, makes no difference to me.  I deep fry them at 375 degrees until they’re brown and crispy. so around 5 minutes or so.  Oven, I suggest around a 450-475 deg F, spritz with olive oil and cook for about 20-25 minutes.  THE FILLING WILL BE MOLTEN HOT so be careful.

Anyway here’s a picture of the finished products I made one day

Image

Leave a Reply

